Top Menu

History of UCSM

On 18th September 1997, the University of Computer Studies, Mandalay was established under the Ministry of Science and Technology to conduct teaching and research in various branches of computer science and technology. The Universities of Computer Studies, Yangon (UCSY) and the University of Computer Studies, Mandalay (UCSM) are the two of the higher institutions under the Ministry of Science and Technology. To help meet the growing need for and advanced computer education in Myanmar, UCSM offers both undergraduate and postgraduate degrees as well as diploma programs in computer studies. On 27th January 2009, the Ph.D. program was started. UCSM is promoted as University of Computer Studies, Mandalay (Centre of Excellence) in 2012-2013 Academic Year. Its teaching materials and textbooks are in English. Our Missions are to produce experts who have the practical ability to invent, install, experiment with, and apply computer hardware and software with a view to making Myanmar a modern and developed nation and to train Information Technology (IT) professionals for Myanmar.

Degree Programmes

UCSM's main offerings are five-year bachelor's programs in computer science and computer technology. It also offers master's degree programs in application science and in information science. The areas of study include artificial intelligence, bio-informatics, computer architecture, control applications, database systems, digital signal processing, image processing, Internet technologies, network security, operating systems, parallel and distributed computing, and software engineering.

Programme Bachelor's Master's Doctorate
Computer Science B.C.Sc.(Software Engineering),
B.C.Sc.(Knowledge Engineering),
B.C.Sc.(High Performance Computing),
B.C.Sc.(Business Information Systems)
M.C.Sc.(Software Engineering),
M.C.Sc.(Knowledge Engineering),
M.C.Sc.(High Performance Computing),
M.C.Sc.(Business Information Systems)
M. C. Sc. , M. I. Sc.
Ph.D. (Information Technology)
Computer Technology B.C.Tech(Computer Communication and Networks),
B.C.Tech.(Embedded Systems)
M.C.Tech.(Computer Communication and Networks),
M.C.Tech. (Embedded Systems)
M.C.Tech. , M. A. Sc.
Ph.D. (Information Technology)

Academic departments

UCSM consists of four faculties and three academic departments.

  • Faculty of Computer Science
  • Faculty of Computer Systems and Technologies
  • Faculty of Information Science
  • Faculty of Computing
  • Department of Information Technology Support and Maintenance
  • Department of Languages
  • Department of Natural Science